How do I close an app?

 

Close lesson
You have completed 0%

How do I close an app?

Sending a message using an app on a smartphone

What's coming up

If you’ve used a computer, you may already know about clicking on the little X (or red button) in the corner of a program to close it. There are no such buttons on smartphone apps, so how do you do close an app?

In this activity, you’ll learn about the times when you need to close apps, and how to do it.

Start activity

Do you even need to close an app?

Smartphones are designed so that you never need to close an app when you’re finished using it. The app sits there quietly, ready to be used again when you want it.

But nothing’s perfect, and sometimes an app doesn’t work properly. Closing an app and starting it again can fix problems.

An old fashioned 'closed, back in 5 mins' sign you sometimes see on a shop door

Closing apps on Apple devices

On the next slide is a video that will show you how to close an app on an Apple device such as an iPhone or iPad. If you don’t have an Apple device, you can skip this video and watch the next one instead.

On the next slide, click the ‘play’ button on the video to watch it. You can also click anywhere on the video to pause or restart it.

Closing apps on Android devices

On the next slide is a video that will show you how to close an app on an Android device.

On the next slide, click the ‘play’ button on the video to watch it. You can also click anywhere on the video to pause or restart it.

When things go haywire

If an app seems to be misbehaving, closing and restarting it will often fix the problem.

If it doesn’t, try restarting your Android phone, or switching off your iPhone then switching it on again.

A smartphone indicating an app has frozen or is struggling to work properly
An icon of a padlock

eSafety Tip: closing apps that use passwords

It’s a good idea to close apps that need passwords, including banking, shopping, social media and billing apps, such as those with gas and electricity providers.

Closing the app logs you out of your account, so no-one else with access to your phone can use it.

Congratulations!

Well done – you’ve reached the end of the How do I close an app? activity. You've should now know when you need to close and app, and how to do it.

Next up, we'll learn how to get rid of apps from your device, in How do I delete an app? activity.

A couple sharing their tablet device whilst they research their family history