Closing pop ups
Pop-up messages are those little boxes that suddenly appear on your screen, usually asking you to answer a question. Some come from apps you are using, and they are often to check if you want to give the app permission to access or do something.
Other pop ups can appear when you are using your web browser to look at websites. These are often just the website eagerly wanting you to buy goods or sign up for a special deal or mailing list. But some website pop ups can be more sinister than that, and can be links to fake websites or scams. If you receive a pop-up message from a website you don't know or trust, it's usually best to not click or tap inside it, but to close it.
In this course, we show you some techniques you can use to remove pop ups safely.
Below you will find three options for learning these techniques.
- Watch it: There's a short video to watch, demonstrating the different types of pop ups and ways to remove them.
- Read it: You can read all about closing pop ups in our handy online guide. You might also like to download the printable version of this guide to keep for future reference. You can find it in your language under the Print the guide section at the bottom of this page.
- Try it: For smart devices only. If you are using your smart device, why not have a go at practising your pop-up-closing skills. This informative activity takes you through some different scenarios, including how to close a very persistent pop up by removing the source web page from your browser.